Is Knowing Local Language necessary?

Ajarns, share your knowledge and ask your questions
SpellBound
Articles: 0

Is Knowing Local Language necessary?

Post by SpellBound »

As a teacher from another country, who barely know the local language, how will he/she fair in indulging in conversations with the students? Is speaking English considered funny or weird as in some other countries?
TheReason

Re: Is Knowing Local Language necessary?

Post by TheReason »

I think it should be mandatory to at least know a little bit of conversational local for teaching. It's a great way to connect with the students, plus there are always those subjects that need to be explained in local, especially on the most basic levels. Not knowing the language can become an obstacle
AccountingProf

Post by AccountingProf »

I've had some experience teaching in a foreign country for one semester. It was a bit hard at first, not knowing their local language/dialect. But if you have a good grasp of the English language, you'll be fine for a bit. You should be able to express yourself well in English in order to be successful in teaching in a foreign country. I usually felt a bit out of place whenever they were talking about something and they were using their native language when conversing.

As the days gone by, I vowed to get acquainted with their local language. I purchased a local dictionary and studied it. By the middle of the semester, I could use a few simple local words and incorporate them while I was lecturing to the delight of the class. I still could not speak their native language fluently but I could understand a bit of what they were saying.

If you don't want to have a hard time in a foreign country, it's better to learn their language first before going there. If not, it's important that you learn their local language on your own or have someone that you get close to teach their language to you.
overcast

Post by overcast »