How do you deal with talkative students?

Ajarns, share your knowledge and ask your questions
AccountingProf
Articles: 0

How do you deal with talkative students?

Post by AccountingProf »

I'm a college professor. I deal with all kinds of students every single day. There are students who love to listen to what I'm saying. There are those who don't care and just stare at an empty space in the room. There are some who fall asleep whenever they hear my voice. There are some who love to eat while listening to me. And there are some who keep talking to their seatmates whenever I talk.

Usually, I ignore these kinds of students. But if they are already disrupting the class, I call their attention and sometimes ask them to recite and ask them a question about the current topic. There would also be sometimes when I would try to have a simple chat with them to get their attention.

I'd like to know what your strategies are when it comes to talkative students so that I could also apply it in some of my classes. ;)
overcast

Re: How do you deal with talkative students?

Post by overcast »

I think most of the talkative students are extroverts. And keeping them busy in some sort of activity is a good thing. You can form some sort of class session tasks and get them engaged into it. It works for English subject for other subjects you may have to be more creative for how to keep them engaged. The more engaged they are less likely to talk during the teaching class. It may differ from one subject to another. In such case you have to understand what to give them where they can make use of their talkative skills in a positive way.
TheReason

Post by TheReason »

Since you're a college professor (you teach adults basically) you can simply ask them to leave the class. I was a teenage and kids teacher, and unless there was a bigger reason, I couldn't ask them to leave my class so instead, I would make the more talkative students switch seats or make them sit right beside me