Homework

Ajarns, share your knowledge and ask your questions
TheReason
Articles: 0

Homework

Post by TheReason »

In my early days as a teacher, I used to be that annoying teacher who left homework in absolutely every class. Students would get mad at me for it and that later on led the class to rebel against me (which made the teaching-learning process extremely difficult). I now try to have a healthy balance and leave homework once a week (maybe twice, if tests are coming up) but no more than that. Have any of you had any similar experience?
OneTimeMan

Re: Homework

Post by OneTimeMan »

Oh, this is an interesting topic. I would argue that it depends largely on the subject you are teaching. I, for one, am a mathematics and physics teacher. For mathematics, I never avoid giving out homework. I just change the quantity. If we learned something new in that class, I will give out a lot of homework, but if we're simply just expanding on the old I'll give a few tasks at most. For physics, on the other hand, I rarely give out homework. If I do, though, it's usually experiments that students are supposed to measure at home. We have a discussion about it at the beginning of every class.
jyy

Post by jyy »

Homework is good for the college and high school level but is counterproductive for lower grades. Anyway, if lower-level schools do feel extra work needs to be done, then they can always make a study period within school hours.
AccountingProf

Post by AccountingProf »

jyy wrote:
Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:23 pm
Homework is good for the college and high school level but is counterproductive for lower grades. Anyway, if lower-level schools do feel extra work needs to be done, then they can always make a study period within school hours.